top of page

In Between Japan and Singapore (and sometimes, Australia)

"Being a Third Culture Kid (TCK) means recognising there's a space that exists between the culture we're from and the culture we're living in." (1)

This pretty much sums up the world I live in- somewhere in between Singapore, Japan and sometimes, Australia. But if you were to walk into my home in Singapore, it feels and sounds very much like a typical Japanese home.

Hello- I'm Ebi and I'm a TCK turned adult and now, parent to a bi-cultural child.

Being a TCK, I'm aware of "identity" issues and questions that can bother some kids growing up.

I don't feel completely Japanese, nor Singaporean/ Aussie. In fact, I have bits of all these cultures.

And honestly, I was really confused for a long, long time.

Growing up, I don't think my parents bothered much either with "reminding me of my heritage" nor "cultivating an interest with the local culture". I think they were too busy working, travelling and keeping it together.

Now that I'm a parent myself, I hope that my daughter will feel less confused and more able to better embrace her heritage. And a large part of that I believe, falls on me.

(1) Source: @tckproblems on Instagram

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

RECENT POSTS: 

bottom of page